Matar Chawal

One of my all time favourite rice, when I am absolutely clueless about what to cook, I make my life easy and make Matar Chawal (green pea rice). Everyone in my family loves it.
Ingredients

Rice – 1 cup Β (wash and soaked in water for 1/2 an hour)

Green peas – 1/2 cup (boiled) I use frozen peas

Salt – as per taste

Cumin Seeds – 1 tsp

Ginger/Garlic paste – 1tbsp

Onion – 1 finely sliced

Black Cardamom – 1

Cinnamon Stick – 2 inch

Black Peppercorns – 6

Green Chillies – 2 chopped

Bay Leaves – 1

Directions

Heat up oil in a pan, and add in the whole spices, cloves, cinnamon stick..etc. Once they start to sizzle, add the sliced onions. Once the onion turns slightly golden, add in the ginger/garlic paste and salt. Mix well!

(I like my rice nice and white! If you prefer brown matarΒ chawal, then fry the onion goldenΒ brown)

Put the peas and green chillies in. If you are using fresh peas, add a glass of water for them to be cooked. If you’re using frozen peas, just add less than half cup of water, put the lid on and cook on low heat for 10 mins.

After that, drain the rice and put them in the pan.

Now as I’m cooking 1 cup of rice, I will be adding 1 and 1/2 cup of water to the pan. If you are cooking 2 cups of rice, then you will add 3 cups of water.

Please add 1 tsp salt.

Once you have added the water, keep the heat medium high, and the water dry. Once you see that edges are becoming dry, low the heat, put the lid on and put your rice on dum.

I cover my pan with a tea towel or kitchen foil and then put the lid on.

Enjoy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

